What to Do if You Get a Marijuana DUI in TexasJames Fletcher
Believe it or not, you can get a DUI for driving high. Driving while impaired can cause motor accidents and is the reason why it is possible to get a DUI for weed.
Getting a DUI for driving while under the influence of weed and getting a DUI for drunk driving involve different laws and processes.
Here is a guide on what to after getting a marijuana DUI in Texas.
What is a Marijuana DUI
Unlike being underneath the influence of alcohol, there isn’t a certain limit for getting a DUI for weed.
Finding any amount of marijuana in your urine or blood can be a basis for stating that you were under the influence of the drug while driving.
Driving under the influence is illegal in the state of Texas.
Just having the proof of positive test results showing THC in your system is enough to charge you.
However, the state’s court will make the final decision as to whether or not it will charge you even after knowing the results of the urine or blood sample.
The first thing you will need to do after being pulled over for driving under the influence of weed is to call an attorney that specializes in these types of DUI’s.
Next is to find your defense. There can be multiple defenses that might help your case.
An example of this could be if you could present facts to the court that are relevant to your case.
This is also the time to present any witnesses you might have from the time of the event. These witnesses might be helpful if they can vouch for your behavior despite any positive drug test results.
Regardless of your next steps in this process, your attorney will help lead in the right direction according to your specific case details.
Know the Possible Penalties
Penalties for driving under the influence of weed in Texas depend on the circumstances during the event.
Different circumstances include whether or not this was your first offense and conviction of a marijuana DUI.
All convictions can include possible jail time, fines, community service, and license suspension.
The first conviction can include up to 180 days in jail and between a day’s worth to 100 hours of community service. There is also the possibility of a year of license suspension and a fine of up to $2,000.
The possible fines could increase to up to $4,000 during your second conviction for a weed DUI and up to one whole year in jail. The license suspension could be up to two years with as much as 200 hours of community service.
The fines and repercussions only get higher with the more convictions you have. You can get your license suspended for up to two years and also get up to 600 hours of community service. There is also a possibility of being in jail for up to two to 10 years.
Another circumstance would be whether or not a minor was present at the time while you were driving the vehicle.
Get Someone Who Will Fight For You
Finding the right attorney will help you understand your rights and options and will fight for you when the time comes.
James Fletcher Law can help you from arrest to verdict during your marijuana DUI.
Visit our blog for more information on Texas law and DWI/DUI’s.