A first-time DWI conviction can cost you up to $20,000 or more.
Court fees, bails costs, and restitution fees are a few of the immediate expenses. On top of it all, you’ll also face issues with your insurance company.
Many insurance companies will refuse to provide coverage while others quadruple your premiums. Are you dealing with the aftermath of a past mistake?
We’ve created this article to help you understand what happens if you lose your license. We’ll also explain the next step you can take to help you get back on track.
Texas DWI Laws
In Texas, a driver is legally intoxicated if their blood alcohol content (BAC) level is .08% or higher. As a driver on the road, you’ve given “implied consent” to submit a sample testing your alcohol levels.
Implied consent happens automatically when you operate a vehicle on public roads. If you’re pulled over you are legally required to submit to a breath, blood, urine or alcohol test.
Should you refuse to complete the test you’ll face more fines and penalties. One of those penalties is losing your license. This is called a DWI license suspension.
What Happens If You Lose Your License
Immediately after refusing to submit a sample test, the police will take your license. The police will give you a notice called the DIC-25. The notice you’re given will read “Temporary Driving Permit.”
On the bottom of the DIC-25 is where you’ll see the details about your right to appeal. You will have the right to appeal within the first 15 days of your arrest. Calculate the day you’re arrested into the total 15 days.
If you choose not to appeal your license will is automatically suspended. On the 40th day of your arrest, your license will be officially invalid. You could be without a license anywhere from 6 months to a year.
The length of suspension will be directly linked to your past DWI history.
What If I File the Appeal in Time?
If you file the appeal within the 15 days, there’s a chance you can keep your license. A letter will arrive notifying you of a hearing date. The letter will always go to the address listed on your license.
It’s important to find a reputable DWI trial lawyer to handle your appeal. Any small error made on your end could seal the deal of your suspension.
Finding the Best Lawyer in Time
It’s important to secure your DWI lawyer before the 15-day deadline passes. Even if the police fail to provide you with a DIC-25 you need a trial lawyer. It’s your responsibility to file within the given time frame.
The DWI Law Office of James Fletcher would love to help you piece your life back together. We understand how overwhelming the legal system can be. Let us help answer any of the questions you might have.
You can read more articles here that address important legal questions. Questions like “What happens if you lose your license” or “How many drinks does it take to get a .008% BAC?”
Contact us today for a free and confidential consultation.