Have you been pulled over for a DUI in Hays County? Getting a DWI in Texas might seem like a frightening experience, especially if you don’t know what to expect. Even if you’ve had a DWI in a different state, Texas has different laws you’ll need to follow.

So, what happens when you get a DUI in Texas? We’ll get into it below. Keep reading to learn more so you can clear your driving record while following the law!

What Happens When You Get Pulled Over

If you notice a police car with its lights on behind you, it’s always best to pull over, even if you know you’re drunk. There are consequences for evading a cop, so you should comply.

The officer will approach one of your car windows and ask you to produce your license and insurance. They will tell you why you were pulled over (e.g., swerving or other signs of drunk driving). Then, they’ll ask you to take a breathalyzer test, which will read your blood alcohol level on the spot.

They will also ask you to perform a field sobriety test. This will involve you stepping out of your car and performing three tests that demonstrate sobriety. These tests may be filmed by the officer’s dashboard camera or body camera and shown to a jury later on.

You can refuse to do a breathalyzer or a sobriety test. When you do so, though, you should remain polite and as cooperative with other requests as you can. You have the right to speak to an Austin DUI attorney before taking the tests if you want to. Still, the officer may arrest you if they think you’re not sober.

When You Get Arrested

Initially, law enforcement will probably take you to jail for one night and then release you on bond. However, this is not the end of your legal battles.

A DWI is a crime, and if you’re charged, an investigation will take place. Sometimes, if a plea deal is taken, the case won’t go to trial. But if yours does, you have the right to choose whether you want a judge or jury trial.

Throughout this process, you should have a lawyer by your side. If you’re convicted of a first-time DWI in Texas, you can spend anywhere from 3-180 days in jail. In addition, you can incur up to a $2,000 fine and have your license suspended for up to a year. A good DUI defense attorney will fight for you and lessen your chances of receiving severe punishment.

Subsequent offenses receive stricter punishments.

Ready to Defend Yourself from a DWI in Texas?

If you have a DWI in Texas, finding a good DUI lawyer will help you in several ways.

Attorneys don’t just use their knowledge of the Texas court system to help you fight your DWI charge. They may also have knowledge of alternative options, such as alcohol counseling programs. If the court allows you to enter a program instead of getting a conviction, you might want to consider that option.

Ready to fight your DWI charge with an Austin DWI attorney? The team at James Fletcher Law is ready to help. Contact us today to learn how we can work together!

English | Español
Directions